Parramatta Win A.W. Green Shield 2018
Date of Event : Mon Jan 29, 2018 11:58AM





Parramatta Green Shielders won the title in a thrilling match at Merrylands Oval on Australia Day to cap off a brilliant undefeated campaign.

Man of the match Tyrone Hargreaves got the side off to a great start with three early wickets. When Blair Overton chimes in with a wicket of his own, Manly were  in trouble at 4/40 from 20 overs. However a century stand between Manly skipper Brynn Mendel and Aiden Bennett put Manly right back in the game. When Mendel was run out for 40 by Atticus Burge, Tyrone Hargreaves return to polish off the innings finishing with 5/25.

Manly had posted a competitive 166 from their 50 overs.

Parramatta also lost early wickets, but a century stand between skipper Harry King (63) and Ryan Johns (50) put Parra in the box seat.

But in a dramatic turn of events, Parra lost 4 /15 to slump to 6/145 still needing 22 for victory and under enormous pressure.

Blair Overton took up the challenge and crunched four 4s and a six to mow down the target with good support from Atticus Burge in just the 36th over.


This was Parra’s first Green Shield since 2007-8 when current stars Sean Abbott, Nick Bertus, Luke Dempsey and others were part of the squad.

Past Parramatta Green Shielders also include internationals Richie and John Benaud, Greg Matthews, Gavin Robertson and Usman Khawaja.


The win is a tribute to the Parramatta Cricket Academy, in particular Paul Calvert and Matt Roughan with Warwick Jarman, and Hills Cricket Academy -Nick Bertus, Luke Dempsey and Scott Copperfield - and the association of Parramatta DCC and the North West Sydney Hurricanes.


The match was watched by a good crowd, which included Club Patron Doug Walters, Eric Myatt, Executive Officer of the Parramatta District Cricket Association which has played such an enormous part in developing all these players, along with Deputy President Michael Johns and past President Ray Horder.


Congratulations to the players, coaches, managers and supporters, and thank you to our major club sponsors Parramatta Leagues Club, Jaycar Electronics and the Royal Oak Hotel who have made such a massive contribution to cricket in this district.


A full scorecard may be found at

by Greg Monaghan

Last updated: Monday January 29, 2018 2:19PM